Piano Forum

Topic: Do I practice long enough?  (Read 3004 times)

Offline marijn1999

Do I practice long enough?
on: February 16, 2016, 08:19:47 PM
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to Piano Street but let me give you some background first. I love classical music since I was about 6 and have been playing on and off since I was 7. I really began to get serious about it when I was 10 and have remained serious about it ever since. I am 16 years right now and, as my profile shows I am a student at the intermediate level right now. In my case that means having perfected the following (amongst others) pieces:

• Mozart: Sonatas 1, 5 and 9
  • Beethoven: Sonatas 1 and 10
  • Bach: Preludes and Fugues 1, 5, 8 and 21 from WTC Book 1 & Preludes and Fugues 2, 5 and 11 from Book 2

I practice piano for two and a half to three hours per day, and half an hour to one hour is dedicated to theory. My question is, do I practice these things enough for my age and level?

Thanks in advance!

BW,
Marijn
Composing and revising old pieces.
---------------------------------------
Visit my YouTube channel! (https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCR0LNNGEPY002W1UXWkqtSw)

Offline kawai_cs

Re: Do I practice long enough?
Reply #1 on: February 16, 2016, 10:04:41 PM
Considering your age and the fact that you probably go to high school and have lots of homework every day it seems you are devoting a good amount of your time to piano practice.
However I do not see why does it matter if other people think it is enough time or not enough time. I assume you a have a goal in mind of studying music after graduation?
Chopin, 10-8 | Chopin, 25-12 | Haydn, HOB XVI:20

Offline pencilart3

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 16, 2016, 10:25:33 PM
yes
You might have seen one of my videos without knowing it was that nut from the forum
youtube.com/noahjohnson1810

Offline pantonality

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: February 19, 2016, 02:08:25 PM